I've just stumbled across a little article about an event organized by Lega Ambiente. The other day they formed a human chain to fortify the public transit lane on Corso Vittorio and keep cars and scooters from encroaching on it. All power to them; I would have been there had I known and in fact joined Lega Ambiente on line just afterwards. The fact that the bus lane has become a free-for-all, especially at night when cars park 3 deep in a lane where they technically shouldn't even set a wheel, is extremely annoying. It's sad that citizens have to risk getting run down to call attention to the problem. As always, one wonders why the cops don't just hand out fines, collect needed revenue and discourage rude civic behavior on a regular basis.
The other site I stumbled across is active in trying to keep the city clean: Roma Pulita (romapulita.it I believe). Well-meaning certainly, but by asking the city to clean up and not asking people to stop littering, writing and leaving dog crap they seem a bit too gentle. Their clear examples of letters to the administration inspired me however. I've decided to go on a little documentation trip one of these days with my camera and send a few hundred emails to the office of "decoro urbano" who promise to resolve any specific problems that are pointed out to them. I'll start with the official AMA (Rome trash collectors) automobile parked for days now illegally at the bus stop on Via Regnoli!
No comments:
Post a Comment